• Title
    Kipling, Rudyard
  • Reference
  • Level of description
  • Date
  • Creator
  • Scope and Content
    These papers comprise in one bound volume 5 letters, with illustrations, from Edward Burne-Jones (Uncle) to Kipling, [c1888-1897]; 20 letters from Kipling to Sir John and Lady Edith Bland-Sutton, [1917-1934]; one undated letter from Caroline Kipling to Lady Edith Bland-Sutton; 6 letters between Lord Webb-Johnson (President of the RCSE), Winston Churchill and Franklin D Roosevelt concerning the leaders receiving copies of two unpublished works by Kipling, 1943; the text of the two unpublished works, a poem 'The Burden of Jerusalem' ('To follow The Peace of Dives') and meditations 'A Chapter of Proverbs' (2 folios each, undated). There is also a folder containing typescript copies (made c1960) of Kipling's letters to Sir John and Lady Edith Bland-Sutton.
  • Extent
    1 volume and 1 folder
  • Language
  • System of arrangement
    The records are arranged as outlined in the scope and content.
  • Conditions governing access
    Open to bona fide researchers by written appointment
  • Conditions governing reproduction
    At the discretion of the librarian
  • Related objects
  • Admin./ biographical history
    Joseph Rudyard Kipling was born in Bombay on 30 December 1865. He was the son of the architectural sculptor and designer John Lockwood Kipling (1837-1911) and Alice (née MacDonald, 1837-1910) and a cousin of Stanley Baldwin (1867-1947). He was educated at United Services College, Westward Ho! North Devon. In 1882, he joined the staff of The Civil and Military Gazette and The Pioneer in Lahore, and became Assistant Editor serving until 1889. He then settled in London though travelled widely in China, Japan, America, Africa, and Australia. For a time he lived in America with his wife Caroline and their children but from 1902 he lived with his family in Burwash, Sussex. His early writing included Plain Tales from the Hills (1887), Soldiers Three and Wee Willie Winkie . Other stories and verse such as The Light that Failed (1891), The Jungle Book (1894), The Second Jungle Book (1895), and Captains Courageous (1897) brought him to the height of his fame. His publications also included Barrack-Room Ballads (1897), Kim (1901), the Just So Stories (1902), Puck of Pook's Hill (1906), and A School History of England (1911). In 1907 Kipling was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature but had refused the British Poet Laureateship and a knighthood. Rudyard Kipling died on 18 January 1936.
  • Associated names
  • Subjects
Hierarchy browser (click on the blue cross to expand lower levels)